MTD 3.5 hp dies after a minute or two

Old 12-10-05, 01:14 PM
meadowroller68
Visiting Guest
MTD 3.5 hp dies after a minute or two

I loaned my blower to a neighbor (bad idea) last year and it was returned to me with an iceberg in the tank. I thawed it and took it to the shop. They cleaned out the fuel line. It started last year & ran ok. Now it will only run for a minute or two, and at low power. This machine has no throttle, only a choke. I have taken the cap off to see if that's the problem with no success. If I need to remove the carb to soak & scrub, will I be able to bolt it back on and go? Any advice? I've never tried to work on a carb before.

Any ideas? Thanks.

Sponsored Links
Old 12-10-05, 04:55 PM
that's not too much to go on. meadowroller68,Are we talking about an MTD single stage(two cycle) blower or a 2 stage (4 cycle) blower.Tecumseh or Briggs&Stratton engine??? reply back with model # so the rest of us is on the same page.

We would be glad to help if only we had more info.With all known info. we can give you a more correct and complete diagnosis and cure of the problem.

Old 12-11-05, 10:25 AM
meadowroller68
Visiting Guest
Thanks for the reply. It's actually a 2 cycle Tecumseh, so I guess that makes it a single stage, and its a 3, not 3.5, hp model. Its MTD model 31A-140-000. The engine is model HSK 600. I should mention its pretty cold here in the Chicago suburbs this weekend.

Old 12-11-05, 12:47 PM
Exclamation

OK....it's a 2 cycle,that do make a differance.The first thing that comes to mind for causing it not to go to full RPM's would be the muffler and or exhoust ports is gloged up with corbon deposit's.Before you take the muffler off tho check the muffler to see if it got a screen on it somewhere,if it does,take it off,that's the problem.If it doesn't,take the muffler off.take the spark plug out,clean port holes good with piece of wood.Blow carbon out of cylinder(IMPORTANT) put back together.Should be fine.