Tecumseh 8.5hp stalling under load

Old 01-01-06, 03:04 PM
Tecumseh 8.5hp stalling under load

Hi, i've got a problem with my MTD snowblower. I have just had the carb rebuilt because of a problem i was having before. It would run great for about 10 min. and then all of a sudden just stall out, start it back up, stalls out with-in a min. Thinking it was crap in the carb, i had it rebuilt. It idles better now, but as soon I a start the auger and hit a big snowbank, the engine RPM eventually goes down until it stalls, I really dont get it. It was bogging down with 3 inchs of snow today so i'm afraid of this foot that is suppose to be here monday night.

i would greatly appreciate any help from the experts

thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 01-01-06, 04:26 PM
Tecumseh stalling?

I'm not an expert by any means-but-
Was gas tank full of gas? Gas cap might be plugged and be
vapor locked. As gas is used, the air can't get in to replace the gas.
Sort of like,turning a gallon jug, full of water upside down.
Gets a good flow then nothing, but burps. Try running it again,when
it starts stalling, loosen the cap. See if it makes a difference.
Other wise check the gas tank, might be something that covers
the outlet hole on bottom of tank. Rust, scale or old piece of gasket
or small kids toy? (JUST KIDDING) Rubber fuel line might be pinched,restricting gas flow?
When installing fuel line.was end of
line in good shape? Hose wasn't cut on the nipple and a piece
is restricting flow? Fuel filter (if it has one) getting plugged?
Just reread your post: Were all the linkages,springs and adjustment screws
put back in the same place?
Cheese and Puey will be along later.
Hope you get it running!! Shoveling is not the answer. HA HA HA!!
Those were my $0.02 worth
T.J.

Last edited by bmwe0692; 01-01-06 at 04:34 PM. Reason: Reread post
Old 01-01-06, 05:13 PM