Problem with Riding Mower

Old 03-20-06, 04:01 PM
Red face Problem with Riding Mower

Hi, folks!

My first post! Great to be aboard!

Need some advice from you good people about a problem with a riding lawn mower.

Mower is a 502.254190 Sears Craftsman 10HP 5-Speed.

The engine runs fine.

The mower won't go anywhere in any forward gear or reverse.

When releasing the brake/clutch, as the pedal reaches the end of its upward travel, one can hear a "rubbing" sound, like a moving part brushing against something else.

Also, what is the safe way to get to the underside of the mower, if that is what I need to do to assess the problem further?

I'm no whiz mechanic. I've done routine maintenance on autos to include replacing belts and brake pads, etc. and have standard auto/household tools (sockets, wrenches, etc.).

Thanks in advance!

Steve

Sponsored Links
Old 03-20-06, 07:36 PM
Sounds to me like the cluch needs to be adjusted or its wore out, get out the owners manual if you have one. It should tell you how to adjust it. If you dont have one lets hope somone here can help. As for getting underneith it Ive seen lots of people hang them from tree limbs but that always scared me. If you can Id say leave it on the ground and pulling the deck off may help alot.

good luck

Old 03-20-06, 08:37 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Hello Steve, and Welcome!

It sounds to me like the belt has come off the transaxle pulley, and the noise you hear is probably the idler pulley hitting the engine pulley (coming back to far since there is no belt for it to sit against).

There is another possibility. Has a rear wheel been removed recently? If so, the axle key may have fallen out, and the axle could be spinning inside the rim.

Deck removal will aid in accessing the underside. You may try putting the rear end up on jackstands too.

Old 03-20-06, 08:38 PM