newbie here needs help

Old 04-15-06, 08:25 AM
newbie here needs help

hello newbie here great site , need help hope someone can help i have a kohler 16 hp side shaft motor that was in a ford riding mower model lgt, model number on engine is k341aqs. i'm using this motor to power a wood processor we are making ,problem i'm having is wiring the coil (like whats on most older cars) not sure which wires go where and how to make this engine run , i got it in pieces and i know it did run. hope someone can help me i believe this is a 1986 . thanks paul (***********@***.net)

**Mod Note : No-e-mail addresses in the forums please.

Last edited by mattison; 04-30-06 at 05:51 AM.
Sponsored Links
Old 04-15-06, 07:29 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
I don't know if you have a coil that requires a resistor or not, but generally on automotive coils, you have 12 volts to the pos. side of the coil during cranking, and 6 volts through a resistor while running. The negative post on the coil connects to the breaker points.

Old 04-16-06, 01:53 PM
thanks . on the coil it said not to use a resistor but their is one on it? this is the original coil and resistor . i have put 12 volts to the positive side and checked the negitive side it also has 12 volts but still no spark? see i'm trying to wire a new key switch to it all so if you could tell me which wires i should hook up to charge the battery also . but i cant figure out what else to do any help would be great thanks . paul

Old 04-17-06, 12:27 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
The coil says not to use a resistor, but it has one? How are you checking for spark? It won't spark unless the negative side gets grounded, and then it will only spark once. That's what the points do...ground the negative side of the coil to create a spark over and over.