Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Engine Won't Fire???

04-19-06, 12:09 PM   #1  
Engine Won't Fire???

I have a 1972 Toro Super Professional Reel mower with a Kohler 12hp engine. I can't get the engine to fire. It has been sitting in a barn for 10 years. I cleaned all of the electrical contacts and I got it to turn over and a spark is coming out of the sparkplug I changed. There is fuel in the tank, but it will turn over and over but nothing will happen. I sprayed wd40 in the sparkplug hole, but not much happens other than a few small pops out of the muffler. I am an extreme novice with engines so what do I do next? Any suggestions will be greatly appreciated!
Thanks,
John Schenkel

Sponsored Links

Non-US

04-19-06, 06:52 PM   #2  
Your carb is blocked up. The "NEW" formula WD40 will not burn. Remove the carb & clean, make sure you have fuel flow from the tank & I bet a large Pizza it'll run Can you tell it's time for supper??

04-19-06, 09:03 PM   #3  
Same here..... if its been setting for 10 years!! the carb needs some TLC..... locate a carb rebuild kit.. soak it in a bath type carb cleaner for a couple hours, it may be overkill but blow it out with carb cleaner and then compressed air.

04-20-06, 05:28 PM   #4  
Engine Won't fire still???