Which mower from Home Depot?

Old 04-26-06, 07:14 PM
killerk70
Visiting Guest
Which mower from Home Depot?

Hello, newbie here.

I live in Bergen County, NJ and my yard is about 5,000 sq ft and mostly filled with weed. I been hiring someone to just mow it during the summer, but now I want to do it myself.

My local HD carries 3 brands (these seem to be the top models):
>LawnBoy-$379 Model 544782 6.5HP SelfPropelled Sense-a-Speed
>Poulan---$269 Model 498102 6.75HP Briggs&Stratton XNP start
>Toro-----$369 Model 445086 6.5HP Personal Pace Mower

Aside from the price differences, which model is "best?"
(My yard is flat so I don't think I really need self-propelled model. So Poulan's price is very attractive. Am I wrong about thinking that "self-propelled" model isn't really needed?)

I would think they must perform similarly.
But my biggest concern is reliability. (Does self-propel portion of the mower fail easily?)

I've never owned a gas mower before. So any feedback would be very welcomed. TIA.

-jus

Sponsored Links
Old 04-26-06, 07:45 PM