Whoa! White smoke!

Old 04-29-06, 08:53 AM
Whoa! White smoke!

Uh oh. Ok, Im a complete engine newbie and I serviced the engine (Briggs Stratton) on my lawn tractor this year for the first time - myself.

So I go out to mow for the first time and Im getting TONS of white smoke billowing out of the exhaust. Also looks like the area might be leaking something around the exhaust area - its definitely a little wet. I originally thought it was just the new oil burning off but it quickly got worse.

Help! This cant be good.

Sponsored Links
Old 04-29-06, 09:10 AM
Sounds like you overfilled the engine with oil. The engine can only hold its required amount + 10% at best. What engine make model, serial, etc. do you have? And, how much oil did you add at time of change? Check the dipstick, you don't want any more than 1/8" past the full mark, of oil.

Old 04-29-06, 09:16 AM
thanks so much for your help. i hope its that simple - i have this feeling that i ruined a nice engine b/c i wanted to "do it myself!"

ok:
1) I used oil purchased directly from a certified briggs stratton service place. good guy. heres the type: Kohler Magnum Universal SAE 30. It says "API service, CF, CF-2/SH, SJ.

2) My engine details:
Briggs & Stratton
14 HP
Model: 28P777
Type: 0641A1
Ser #: 96112620

3) While servicing, I fully drained the oil and put on a new filter (purchased from same place). The engine manual says engine holds 1 3/4 quarts of oil (with a filter on). I initally put in about 1 1/4 quarts, following the specific instructions in the manual: fill engine, run for 30 secs, wait 30 secs, measure level. when i did this it was at the top of the mark so i stopped. today, after running for 5 mins and the smoke starting to come out, i checked the oil and it looked low, so i put the rest in to make it 1 3/4 quarts total and the mark was back at full. So maybe its now overfilled? Wasnt when I started seeing smoke.