Running Mower without blade

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-11-06, 08:08 PM
lexmarks567's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Warren MI
Posts: 610
Running Mower without blade

I have a Areins self pro-pelled mower that I got out of the trash and does not have the blade or the pully to make it go forward.I shaft has teeth (or grooves) for the pully and I was wondering if it would ruin the engine if I ran it with out the blade for a minute or 2 just to see if the thing works



Update: I went back and found the missing peices so I will install them and see if it will fire up.
 

Last edited by lexmarks567; 06-11-06 at 10:40 PM. Reason: Update
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-12-06, 05:31 AM
daswede's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: massachusetts
Posts: 2,215
More than likely it will damage the mower. I wouldn't do it.
 
  #3  
Old 06-12-06, 05:36 AM
lexmarks567's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Warren MI
Posts: 610
Originally Posted by daswede
More than likely it will damage the mower. I wouldn't do it.
Yeah thats why I went back to see if the parts were there. I found the blade the blade adapter (the pully is molded into it) the air filter the air filter cover and the rope handle.
 
  #4  
Old 06-12-06, 05:56 PM
v8driver's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 767
I've run a few briggs engines with no blades for a couple minutes..... just to run em out of gas and they didn't seem to explode.....
 
  #5  
Old 06-13-06, 04:46 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 43,852
I agree with V8driver, it shouldn't make a difference if the blade is attached.
 
  #6  
Old 06-13-06, 08:51 AM
James Sanders's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Richmond, BC
Posts: 101
running a vertical shaft engine such as lawnmowers without a blade will still run, it is just hard to get them started, because there is no continuing force pulling the engine over (ie. the blade, a belt, etc)

once you get them started, they should run fine, but will be very hard to idle at a slow speed because of no continuing force, so it might kickback or backfire

that is what i've heard on these forums a long time ago
 
  #7  
Old 06-25-06, 01:53 AM
mikesmalleng's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 109
This is called no load speed
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes