String Trimmer - post re-build problems

Old 07-06-06, 10:22 AM
String Trimmer - post re-build problems

First off, please forgive my ignorance as I have no experience working on anything mechanical. But, it sounded like fun so hereís what happened.

I have a Weed Eater brand sting trimmer. (XL-20T). Itís about 8-10 years old. At the end of last year, it kept getting harder and harder to keep running with the choke off until finally I couldnít start it at all. So this year I bought a re-build kit for the Warblo (I think) carburetor. I did the work (based on tips I read here) and now it starts great and seems to idle fine with the choke off. The problem Iím having is that the throttle response is horrible. I pull the trigger and it takes a few seconds to ďbuild-upĒ steam and when it finally seems to be running on full throttle, I have no power. Meaning that when I put it to the grass, it almost dies unless I move real slow. And after about 10 minutes it dies and I canít get it started again. But the next day it starts fine and then it all happens again. I think, and please feel free to correct me, that itís getting flooded. The only thing I can think of that would cause this (and here we get into technical names I donít know) is the little rocker assembly in the carb that attaches to the inlet needle (in a four stroke I think there would be a float doing the same thing as this little strip of metal). Anyway, there were no instructions with the re-build kit so I may have messed something else up. If this is the problem, how and to what specifications do I adjust that plate.

Also, just for more information, Iíve read a lot around here about adjusting the TWO screws on the carburetor (H and L I believe). I have two screws on mine but one is marked with both the H and L. The other screw has a big spring wrapped around it and adjusts the position of the throttle lever at idle. In case this has any bearing on you solutions.