Craftsman Eager 1 Starting Problem

Old 07-16-06, 07:33 PM

i have a craftsman eager 1 and it just will not start. after about 30 pulls it starts and then just slowly dies and wont start back up. ive heard about the carb needs to be cleaned and the bowl. but im a beginner and im not really familiar on a carb. if thats the problem i need some slow and well told steps to take it apart and see the bowl. im not even sure where the bowl would be lol. i need to learn to fix problems in the future. so any help would be greatly appreciated. thanks

Sponsored Links
Old 07-16-06, 08:04 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
The bowl is the "cup" looking thing on the bottom of the carb. It is held on by a bolt with a 1/2" head. Remove the bolt, and clean the tiny holes in the sides of it. Pull the bowl off and clean it out well and reassemble and see how it does. If still no go, you'll need to remove the carb, disassemble it, and soak it in a good carb cleaner. Has the mower been stored for a long time? How long? The carb may be badly gummed up. You'll see the gum in the bowl if it is.

Old 07-16-06, 08:36 PM
it hasnt been sitting, but it is about 12 years old but well taken care of.....so all i have to do is take the carb off the motor and clean the bowl. but soaking it, could i do that and would that clean the bowl and everything as well? or should i just as well take out the bowl and clean it. thanks for the reply cheese

Old 07-16-06, 08:53 PM
cmw0021
To do the carb isn't extremely hard as Cheese says, it's just a matter of detail. You want to clean the carb properly and that includes all the small orifices. My biggest suggestion would be to go to your local small engine dealer and order a mechanics manual for that model of engine. Tecumseh has an awesome and well written manual with lots of pictures to help you along.
If you're willing to learn then this manual is the ideal starting point. You'll be doing neighbors machines in no time.

snoman

Old 07-16-06, 08:53 PM