72 Briggs 7HP Flywheel removal???

Old 08-13-06, 09:14 AM
72 Briggs 7HP Flywheel removal???

Hi yall, newbie here so please be gentle.
I have a 1972 model Briggs engine with electric
starter. Mounted on a Ford LT 75 lawn tractor. I am needing to remove the flywheel to check/replace points, clean. I am restoring it. The "nut" for the flywheel is something I have not seen before. The air screen screwed to it. It has 4 "legs" for the screen screws, and under that notches. Is this the flywheel nut? If so does it take a special wrench/socket or could one just hammer the notches to loosen it? The notches are very pointed so a "normal" wrench won't fit them. Or am I going about this all wrong? I am thanking everyone in advance foe follow ups. Have a GREAT da y.

Sponsored Links
Old 08-13-06, 01:15 PM
Originally Posted by 7777777
Hi yall, newbie here so please be gentle.
I have a 1972 model Briggs engine with electric
starter. Mounted on a Ford LT 75 lawn tractor. I am needing to remove the flywheel to check/replace points, clean. I am restoring it. The "nut" for the flywheel is something I have not seen before. The air screen screwed to it. It has 4 "legs" for the screen screws, and under that notches. Is this the flywheel nut? If so does it take a special wrench/socket or could one just hammer the notches to loosen it? The notches are very pointed so a "normal" wrench won't fit them. Or am I going about this all wrong? I am thanking everyone in advance foe follow ups. Have a GREAT da y.

Yeah,this part is called the 'starter chutch'.And you can get it off both ways.I mein,there is a special tool to take it off.It's called a 'clutch spinner' a 7/8 wrench or scoket fits it,you can pick one up at some hardware stores or at most small engine shops for around $6.00 or less.But...you can bump it off with a hammer.It comes off CCW.But don't hit it hard enough to brake off the ears.