craftsmen push mower making ugly - death defying noises

Old 09-25-06, 01:54 PM
craftsmen push mower making ugly - death defying noises

I have a craftsman push mower that's making a pretty hard metalic banging noise. Sounds like the engine is going to explode at some point in the future. The mower is a good ten years old but it was in storage for most of that and has only really been used the past two seasons.

the mower is push only, no self propelling mechanism. I pulled the pull start cover off and everything seems to be intact. The itself seems to be starting and running fine and there really isn't any vibration to speak of. Just one heck of a banging. The only thing I can think of is the brake system that stops the spinning blade when you let go of the handle. Does that sound reasonable? How difficult is it to work on that part of the mechanism.

I'm a pretty competant wrench with a decent amount of tools but I've never worked on small engines before.

thanks,

Sponsored Links
Old 09-25-06, 03:36 PM
Is the frame bent so the blade hits??and you implyed that it did vibrate a little.is the blade bent and hiting the deck?

Old 09-25-06, 07:14 PM
Once these mower decks start to get old,they don't sit square any more. Do all the wheels touch the floor on a level surfsce when all the wheel adjusters are set to the same height??

Old 09-26-06, 03:02 AM