Toro snowblower problems.

Reply

  #1  
Old 11-17-06, 10:43 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Toro snowblower problems.

Hi guys, first post here. I have a Toro S 200 snowblower I am trying to get running. It has good spark, but won't start, even if I squirt a little starting fluid into the plug hole. This leads me to believe that it is a carburetor problem. What gets me is that this carb only has 1 adjustment screw, instead of the usual 3 or 4. Does anyone know how many turns out that screw should be?

Thanks for the help guys,
Hunter
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 11-18-06, 11:05 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,820
Hello Hunter and welcome to DIY!

Unfortunately (or maybe that's "fortunately") I don't know much about snowblowers. We don't need 'em down here in the deep south. An engine is an engine though, but I don't know what engine it has on it. Is it 2 or 4 stroke? The fact that it doesn't start with starter fluid indicates that it might have an ignition or compression problem to me. I'll wait for more detailed info on the engine before venturing any more guesses.
 
  #3  
Old 11-19-06, 04:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Thanks Cheese, it's a 2 stroke...I believe it is a 40:1 mix. I thought about the compression problem, but it is harder to turn over with the plug screwed in, so I figured compression was OK. I am still baffled as to why it doesn't have high and low speed adjustments...there is only one adjustment screw and I can't figure out where it should be set at. I'd appreciate any insight you could give me.

Thanks,
Hunter
 
  #4  
Old 11-19-06, 08:28 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,820
Try again, but with a little gas/oil mix instead of starting fluid. Just a little. If it starts momentarily, then you have a fuel problem. If not, there's more checking to be done.
 
  #5  
Old 11-20-06, 07:09 AM
jarhead's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: chicago
Posts: 73
I Just Picked One Up From A Freind That Didnt Want It. It Wasnt Running Either. Throughly Clean The Carb, Maybe Change The Diapham $12.00, And From Litely Seated, Turn The Mix Screw Out 1 1/4 Turn Out. Should Get It Going.COULDNT GET IT GOING RIGHT AWAY THUOGH. HAD TO CLEAN THE CARB TWICE, THE OLD GAS MIX WAS LIKE GLUE AND REALLY CLOGED THE CARB GOOD.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes