Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

McCulloch maccat 330

CANADA

11-18-06, 07:50 AM   #1  
McCulloch maccat 330

Hi all,

Nice forum. Forrestry is not my trade but I just wondered if somebody might be able to help me. I have a maccat which is running rough. I have cleaned the air filter and changed the plug. I think it needs a bit of a tune up but I wondered if there was a service manual available for this model. I bought the saw secondhand and it had no manuals with it.

On top of the carb are 3 screws, hi, low, and idle. If a muanual is not available I wonder if maybe someone could help me with some advise on how to tune it. I am a car mechanic by trade so I understand engines, carbs etc. I have tried to tune this saw by twidling the screws until it sounds right. This is great until i try to start it! I then have to retune it until it starts and gets up to temperature then tune it until it runs right!! This is getting annoying - I just want to be able to get the saw out and use it not spend 2 hours getting it to run right then use it for 10 minutes to cut some logs!! The ammount I use the saw it would take less time to use a bow saw!!

Thanks in advance.

Sponsored Links

TX

11-18-06, 08:38 PM   #2  
There is a good chance that the diaphragms in the carburetor are stiff and need to be replaced, having to readjust all the time is a good indicator of this. Check the fuel filter and fuel lines and make sure they are all in good order.

The saw should start up fairly easy with High and Low speed adjustments set at 1 1/2 turns from seat. You will have to fine tune after engine is warmed up, but you should not have to repeat adjustments once set. Also make sure the fuel mix is fresh as stale fuel will affect adjustments.

11-19-06, 01:43 AM   #3  
Delambo,