transmission slips

Old 12-19-06, 04:26 PM
transmission slips

I Have A Craftsman Lawn Tractor 18 Hp 42in Deck. I Am Not A Mechanic. It Is An Automatic. It Is Only Six Months Old. The Transmission Is Slipping. I Can Be Going Forward And It Slips. I Can Put It In Reverse And It Will Drive A Little Longer. I Keep Going Through This Process. Forward And Reverse And It Is Making Some Kind Of Slipping Noise. Hope You Can Refer Me To A Corrective Action.
I Have Quit Driving The Machine. I Fear I May Be Doing More Damage.

Thank You

Sponsored Links
Old 12-20-06, 11:17 AM
I don't know whether you have a hydrostatic xmission or not. Not accomplished in this area, but from my limited experience with My 42" wide body Murray which is six years old and has been trouble free, I have noted the following simple problems that will give some of your syymtoms.
! Oil level low. Does not usually drop unless there is an axle seal leaking. Look for fresh oil around where the axles enter the tranny case.
2 If I set my park brake, and then release it, most osf the time if I don't either push down on the brake and also on the brake knob, it will not fully engage and growl and moan.
3 I got a stick up under mine one stime that jammed the linkage and when I used the brake, I would have to reach down and pull the pedal all the way back. Of couse upon inspection I found the stick, removed same and all is well.
4 Outside possibility. The belt tension idler bearing is shot or the tension spring is broken or off. Slippage of the belt would definitely stall the xmission.
5 The noise that you hear could also be low oil level and a cavitating pump or a by passing press releif valve.
Tell if any of this reveals a clue or will narrow down our search.
The guys on this forum are anxious to help.
Come on Ken, give us a hand here. Tom

Old 12-21-06, 12:31 AM
Forum Topic Moderator