Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

New Holland Diesel no start...

03-14-07, 06:01 AM   #1  
New Holland Diesel no start...

Hello all!
I'm trying to figure out why my friends New Holland Diesel TC290D won't start. It turns over but won't fire up. When cranking I'm sniffing the exhaust to see if I smell fuel but I don't. I don't know if I would.
I'm not very good with diesels so I need some help if you'd be so kind.
Here's what I've done...
In the fall I changed all the air filters, fuel filter, crankcase oil and filter. I started it up to run for a bit.
So, some time during the winter she tried to start it up but to no avail. She's never had this problem before and I've almost ruled diesel fuel gelling as it usually doesn't get below 15 in her barn.
As I was looking around on it yesterday I emptied the fuel filter bowl (nothing unusual such as water).
Can anyone point me in the right direction?
Thanks so much and may God bless!!
Peter

Sponsored Links

PA

03-14-07, 08:29 AM   #2  
Does this diesel have self priming injectors? Air in the fuel line may be the culprit if not self priming.

NY

03-14-07, 08:47 AM   #3  
What was the temperature at the time you attempted to start it? It certainly sounds as though you have a fuel system related issue and if it is not, in fact, gelled then the fuel pump is the first place to look, as Bontai indicated. If you are not familiar with diesel engines, I'd recommend having your dealer have a go at it. I do have some recommendations but if you are not careful with what I would (and I'm not going to) recommend, you can do some expensive damage. Temperature? Are you using winter mixed fuel?

03-14-07, 09:28 AM   #4