Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

How much oil should I put in transmission?


michaeljp86's Avatar
Member

Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 478
MI

05-08-07, 07:12 AM   #1  
How much oil should I put in transmission?

On this craftsman transmission I should get the new seals in today and was wondering how much oil does this thing need? I called sears and finaly talked to someone with 1/2 a brain and she told me everything I needed to know about the transmission but I forgot to ask how much oil to put into it. I tried to call them again and they all just say those are sealed from the factory and thank you for choosong sears and hang up on me. If nobody knows for sure I would like to hear your best guess, Im thinking 2qts.

It takes 20w-50 motor oil

Here is the numbers if anyone wants to know.
tractor 917.270821
transmission 319-650

 
Sponsored Links
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 16,570
GA

05-09-07, 12:21 AM   #2  
I don't know. Best guess: 1 1/4 qts.


"Who is John Galt?" - Ayn Rand (Atlas Shrugged)

God bless!

 
michaeljp86's Avatar
Member

Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 478
MI

05-09-07, 08:38 PM   #3  
Today I put in 2qts but I dont have the tranny on the tractor yet so I can get some out. Do you think haveing to much would hurt anything?

 
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 16,570
GA

05-10-07, 12:27 AM   #4  
Try it and see. I don't know. There's not a lot of info out there about what you're doing.


"Who is John Galt?" - Ayn Rand (Atlas Shrugged)

God bless!

 
michaeljp86's Avatar
Member

Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 478
MI

05-13-07, 09:35 AM   #5  
I got it working with the 2 qts in it but now the transmission makes a whine when you take off. Any idea what thats from? Would to much fluid cause it?

 
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator

Join Date: Jul 2001
Posts: 16,570
GA

05-14-07, 12:58 AM   #6  
Probably air that needs to be purged from the system. There is a procedure for purging it I believe. I don't know the procedure.


"Who is John Galt?" - Ayn Rand (Atlas Shrugged)

God bless!

 
michaeljp86's Avatar
Member

Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 478
MI

05-14-07, 06:10 AM   #7  
nobody knows it, I guess Ill just have to play around with it. It only does it after its set for a while.

 
Search this Thread