Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Need tips on hydrostatic drive.

06-04-07, 04:25 PM   #1  
Need tips on hydrostatic drive.

I took on an old Noma Eaglestar 39" riding mower from my next door neighbor. He gave it to me for free. I've been a mechanic for 25 years but never had the chance to dig into a riding mower. This one needed an engine, I found one and made the swap. I put on the belts, and got it running. So far so good. Now here is where I'm kind of lost: This thing doesnt appear to have brakes (?) (!). And when I put it in gear (at idle , of couirse, since it doesnt appear to have brakes) it doesn't move. Any help/advice/operating info would be appreciated!

Sponsored Links

NY

06-04-07, 05:16 PM   #2  
When you say "put it in gear", do you mean either step on a pedal or move a hand lever for the transmission control? Or, do you, perhaps, have a shifter tranny where you do put it in gear? If this is a hydro, there likely is a freewheel lever that enables you to move the tractor around without the engine running and you should be sure that this lever is in the engaged postion. You believe that this does not have brakes, but I wonder if the brakes are actually seized thereby locking up the drive train and giving you the impression of a tranny issue. Are you able to freewheel the tractor without the engine running or at all? Another possible problem is if someone ever had one or both of the rear wheel off and unknowingly forgot to reinstall the axle key(s). If only one were missing, you'd have no drive. Post back with the ID numbers off the chassis so we can see exactly what you have for a tractor.

06-04-07, 05:55 PM   #3