2 Electric String Trimmers Dead?!?

Reply

  #1  
Old 06-11-07, 01:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 587
2 Electric String Trimmers Dead?!?

My old Black & Decker (model??? ... around $30 new ... red & black) began losing power during a lawn trimming session so I thought I would pick up a new one. Turns out my Dad had a spare one (another B & D but different model) that looked in good shape so I took that home to try out. About 5 minutes after the start of use, the motor slowed down & overheated badly. This was almost the exact problem I had with the first trimmer.

I can't say for sure if the second trimmer was in perfect operating condition but it seems like a coincidence that both would have the same problem doesn't it?

Could it have something to do with the 100 ft. cord I am using?

(I use the cord with my electric mower too ... no problems)
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 06-12-07, 01:25 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,575
Probably coincidence. They don't make those things with quality in mind. I don't know how many amps the thing pulls, but I doubt it's enough to cause it to overheat on a 100 ft cord. If the cord is damaged, (wire nearly broken in 2, or arced terminals on the plug or receptacle) then it could cause the problem, but this would surely be evident when using the mower too. Have you been running it on this cord over time with no problems? Does the instructions for it state what size and length cords to use?
 
  #3  
Old 06-12-07, 04:47 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 587
No, there were no specific instructions regarding wire size/length and yes, I have been using the cord for a few years now with no trouble. It's in good shape -- no breaks or shorts.

You're probably right, just coincidence. I didn't want to try another trimmer if there was a chance that I could ruin it.

Thanks for the reassurance
 
  #4  
Old 06-12-07, 06:49 AM
msidan's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Gouverneur
Posts: 289
You could plug a trimmer directly into a wall outlet just to see if the same thing happens.
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:48 AM.