stihl fs 80 wont run

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-18-07, 07:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: united states
Posts: 11
stihl fs 80 wont run

hi guys , new here so kinda stick with me if you could .
i own a stihl as listed above , it will run when i squirt a little fuel in the carberater . till it runs out . cleaned the tank and fuel lines . filter is ok . what next , should i rebuild the carb. ?? any help would be greatly appreciated .. thanks hoot
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-18-07, 08:13 PM
Member
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 2,333
Get a diaphgram/gasket kit,screw all adjustment screws to seat for reference purposes, take the carb apart, spray all the available holes, cracks and crevases with carb cleaner and compressed air or brake parts cleaner, brake parts cleaner is better since it doesn't leave residue or blow anything apart as compressed air has a tendency to do. Put it back together, set the adjustment screws where you found them and if the fuel lines and filter are ok you should be good to go. Have a good one. Geo
 
  #3  
Old 07-19-07, 02:57 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: united states
Posts: 11
thanks geo, i will pick up a kit today.. hoot
 
  #4  
Old 07-19-07, 03:24 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: united states
Posts: 11
well picked up the 13.00 kit , and a half hour later it was running like new .. thanks . hoot
 
  #5  
Old 07-19-07, 03:44 PM
puey61's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 3,224
Wonderful, another success story, keep us bookmarked, Hoot, if you should need us in the future. Thanks Geo, good call and explanation.
 
  #6  
Old 07-19-07, 05:31 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: united states
Posts: 11
Talking

well here i go again . the thing ran great , used it for about 10 minets , shut it off , went inside ate dinner , came back out , now it will start , idels fine . but when i try to throttle it , it boggs down terable and wont rev up . just seems to be choking itself out or something . and you guys thought you was getting off easy<< . but this is the way things go for me .. thanks hoot
 
  #7  
Old 07-19-07, 06:03 PM
puey61's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 3,224
Did your rebuild kit include an inlet needle? Did you soak the carburetor or otherwise clean the carb before you reconditioned it? If so, specifically how and with what cleaner? Does the carb have adjustable jets (needles)? If so, how many? And, if so, are there limiters on the needles so that you have only so much movement with them?
 
  #8  
Old 07-20-07, 02:53 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: united states
Posts: 11
Originally Posted by puey61 View Post
Did your rebuild kit include an inlet needle? Did you soak the carburetor or otherwise clean the carb before you reconditioned it? If so, specifically how and with what cleaner? Does the carb have adjustable jets (needles)? If so, how many? And, if so, are there limiters on the needles so that you have only so much movement with them?
i replaced anything and everything in the kit , it did have an inlet needle, i sprayed it down with brake cleaner , then blew it out with the air compresser.
there is only one adjustment screw in the carb. i returned it to where it was on the start of the rebuild ,i may tear it apart and clean it again today . might have picked something up . just seems lik eit is flooding now , or lik ethe choke is on . hoot
 
  #9  
Old 07-20-07, 05:45 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: united states
Posts: 11
well recleaned the carb , the thing is running good again , some one must have broken into my tool shed and put some dirt in it when i was eating dinner last night . it couldnt have been me that missed something.8^) thanks again , hoot
 
  #10  
Old 07-20-07, 11:47 AM
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 335
Hey hoot,
I'd check to make sure they didn't put a little dirt in your gas can ;-) That may be where the dirt came from.
 
  #11  
Old 07-21-07, 03:18 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: united states
Posts: 11
zzzz1486, thanks , i did that already , had just about a quart left in the small can . its the same fuel i use for my chainsaws. dumped it out and put fresh in , i mix my fuel 2.5 gallons at a time , i cut alot of wood. and i buy fuel that dosnt contain that ethinol stuff. ( im not much of a speller) . i was told after awhile something in it turns to water . ?? thanks for the advise . alot of people think gas does not go bad , and it dosnt make a difference where you buy it , im alot happier buying better fuel .. hoot
 
Reply


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:24 PM.