Engine brake cable

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-22-07, 05:18 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 2,365
Engine brake cable

On a push mower you have the handle you must hold while the mower is in use as a safety device, I repair a lot of old mowers and this cable is usually shot. Does anyone know of a company that provides a universal cable for this purpose, so far I have gotten a big "no you have to order from the manufacturer by model, serial no, etc.,etc." and of course that is not possible since some of these mowers haven't been manufactured in 20 years. Have a good one. Geo
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-22-07, 05:59 PM
puey61's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 3,224
True, most cables are brand specific due to housing length, cable length, mount style (both the handle end and the engine end) and cable end style. I've yet to see a cable not available though, you just need to know where to look.
 
  #3  
Old 07-22-07, 07:24 PM
BFHFixit's Avatar
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: USA.
Posts: 1,836
http://www.oregonchain.com/oep/
Contact Oregon parts and they will send you a catalogue. They have many variations of cables, lengths and termination...etc.
 
  #4  
Old 07-22-07, 10:05 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 1,365
with something that old alot of parts are no longer made so they superceeded it with a part that is a authorized replacement for example I just ordered a new coil and the old one is no longer made but its replaced by one thats a authorized replacement just different looking.
 
  #5  
Old 07-23-07, 11:05 AM
jeff194307's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Monmouth
Posts: 29
The last place that I worked as a tech had a kit for making your own cables. I think that they got it from one of the aftermarket companies. It was a very handy thing to have when you worked on old equipment.
 
  #6  
Old 07-23-07, 03:22 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 2,365
jeff194307;
It sure would be handy to a lot of us folks that work on old junkers if you would try and find more info for the cable kit. I myself would be very appreciative. Thank you very much and have a good one. Geo
 
  #7  
Old 07-23-07, 03:28 PM
Member
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: usa
Posts: 1,365
what you could do is if you have the old cable find one thats the same size and use that.
 
  #8  
Old 07-23-07, 10:05 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 2,365
flirty1:
That is what I do, using parts from one to fix another is what it's all about, to keep usable equipment out of the land fill. However, I fix them and give them away, unless they look very good then I sell them for $10 per hp. Have a good one. Geo
 
  #9  
Old 07-24-07, 11:47 AM
jeff194307's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Monmouth
Posts: 29
I spent a lot of time trying to find a site for the kit, but did not locate it. I know that a kit for making cables is available, posibly from a motorcycle repair site or a small engine parts site, but I was unable to find it.
 
  #10  
Old 07-24-07, 12:36 PM
Soadaman's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Arizona, Glendale
Posts: 77
I used a bike brake cable or a gear switching cable it worked for me..
 
  #11  
Old 07-24-07, 04:33 PM
30yearTech's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 1,176
I remember years ago when compliance control cables were first introduced, there was a company that made a kit. It had the conduit and the braided cable, all the different kinds of ends and some molds for making and melting the ends of the cables. It was kind of expensive as I remember, I have looked high and low on the net but cannot find any reference to this kit, perhaps they just stopped making it or went out of business.
 
  #12  
Old 07-24-07, 05:54 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 2,365
Thanks to all for your assistance, I will just make a cable on an as needed basis. Made one using a large split shot fishing line weight as a stop, it's been working for about 6 mos. I just found some 1/16 ferrels and stops for my future creations. Have a good one. Geo
 
  #13  
Old 07-24-07, 06:36 PM
duigoose's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: USA
Posts: 306
hey geo...thank you as well
I'm kinda like you, I take stuff everyone wants to throw away and give it new life if possible. If someone wants to pay I usually use that towards folks that can't. Although I try to fish when I can the idea of split shot never crossed my mind for a cable stop......guess I'm not much of a fisherman either :-)
 
  #14  
Old 07-24-07, 07:09 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 468
Conquest Cable Corp

The name of the company that has the cable kit is Conquest Cable Corp. It is over $300 for the kit. With labor you have to charge around $30.00 per cable that you make (time + parts). I only use it for cables that I can't get or cables that I must have right now (Pro cutters can't wait).

CA only 1-800-843-0989
outside CA 1-800-346-3150

AJ
 
  #15  
Old 07-25-07, 07:34 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 2,365
Thanks aj, at that price it sounds like I will continue to rig them as I need them. Have a good one. Geo
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes