Honda GC160

Reply

  #1  
Old 07-26-07, 08:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Cool Honda GC160

I have a Honda ohv gc160 that I have replaced the timing belt cam pulley on. Now that I have replaced the cam shaft pulley, does anyone know how to set the timing?

Thank you for your help!
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 07-27-07, 03:55 AM
puey61's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 3,224
I don't, but I'm sure Cheese, the other topic moderator, will. Stay tuned, I'm sure he'll post in by tonight/early tomorrow.
 
  #3  
Old 07-27-07, 08:27 PM
30yearTech's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 1,176
There are timing marks on the camshaft pulley, they amount to (2) little dash marks that are lined up parallel with the top of the cylinder. Set up the camshaft with the piston at TDC and you should be good to go.


- 0 - Timing marks on side of camshaft pulley
_____ Top of cylinder head where valve cover mounts
(this is the best I could come up with for an illustration)
 
  #4  
Old 08-02-07, 07:37 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 2
Question

I got the camshaft pulley replaced and with yall's help got the timing set and the mtr runs perfectly. As usual there is always a "but". Once I put the pump back on the mtr (this is a excell pressure washer) it works fine untill you squeeze the trigger on the wand. When you do that the mtr dies down. It doesn't completely die but it has so little power that the spray wouldn't clean anything. I adjusted the pressure on the pump and the mtr works great. The only problem is that I had to adjust the pressure so low to get the mtr to run @ full speed that I might as well use a garden hose and nozzle instead of the pressure washer.
 
  #5  
Old 08-02-07, 06:28 PM
30yearTech's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 1,176
Did you set the valve lash on the engine after replacing the camshaft? It's possible that the valve timing could be off a cog or two as well.
 
  #6  
Old 08-02-07, 07:52 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,815
Or if you removed or loosened the governor arm, it needs to be reset.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes