Kohler 12.5S stalling

Old 07-27-07, 03:03 PM
Kohler 12.5S stalling

I am a newbie to this board, and have performed a search on this issue, which in other cases was traced to an incorrect fuel filter. Here is my problem. I have an STX38 John Deere with a Kohler Command 12.5S or 1215. It starts and idles fine, but when hot, and under load, will sputter, spit, backfire and then stall. The fuel filter (which I have since completely done away with) will at that time be empty. I can sort of baby it with the throttle and run it on full choke - for about 3-5 minutes, until it recovers. Shutting off the deck will help, but it still needs time to recover. When it does, it will last 5-10 minutes and begin the process all over. So far, I have replaced all fuel lines, taken apart and cleaned the carb and choke, changed oil, changed plug and air filter, danced around it, and treated it nice. Nothing helped. If it were a car, I'd say fuel pump, but I can't find one. Any help from those more wise than I is appreciated.

Stefan

Sponsored Links
Old 07-27-07, 11:18 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Loosen the gas cap. If the vent in it is plugged, it will vaporlock the fuel system and starve the engine for gas.

Old 07-28-07, 05:00 AM
Have tried even running it without the gas cap. Somehow, I think I am getting a type of vpor lock.

Stefan

Old 07-28-07, 06:10 PM
Perhaps you are vapor locking and it's as a result of an engine that is overheating due to plugged cooling fins. Have you pulled off the blower (flywheel) shroud to have a look at the cooling fins?

Old 07-29-07, 05:11 PM