Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Huskee/ MTD Riding mower w/ 20 hp Briggs- Blowing smoke

AR

08-30-07, 05:34 AM   #1  
Huskee/ MTD Riding mower w/ 20 hp Briggs- Blowing smoke

Hi there. I am a Nursing student, and my wife and I just bought our first home, which came with about a half acre lawn, most of which is on an incline. At first, I thought, Heck, I can mow this with a pushmower, No Problem! But after a few 2 1/2 hour mow sessions in 100 degree heat, I decided A riding mower would make my life alot easier. To make a long story a little longer, I bought a refrigerator that came with a FREE riding mower, the afore-mentioned Huskee. It only needed a new battery and a new rear wheel, the lady told me, So I Bought this fridge, which doesnt fit in my kitchen and is now for sale, and convinced my buddy that after a long day at work, he would like to help me move this Gigantic Machine. (It has a 50" cut deck).

Well, anyway, I got it home, replaced the battery, took the rear tire in and got it patched. The machine had been severely abused, as attested to by the thick layer of oily dirt and grass that had accumulated all over its innards and underbelly, and the sad state of the cutting blades, which are about as sharp as a pillowcase full of marshmallows. I decided to take the body off so that I could get a better look at the engine, and after much swearing at the designers and head scratching, succeeded. So I cleaned her up pretty good with a toothbrush, hooked the monstrous deck back up, tested to see if the alternator was good, and got 'er going. Did a pretty good job mowing the lawn even with the dull blades, but here, finally, is the reason that I am writing, what may turn out to be my first novel, on this forum.