Snapper Safety interlock

Old 09-09-07, 12:45 PM
Question Snapper safety cutoff...

Hey Guys...newbie here looking for a bit of help. I have a Snapper rear engine rider. After I hosed it down, it won't let me put it in gear without quiting. Neither will it let me engage the blade, even in nuetral, it will die. I found a red wire on a common terminal with a black wire, when disconnected it runs/works like advertized. The other end of the red wire goes to a half-dollar size, 3/4 inch thick round sealed item near the starter solenoid. Also going into this magic round piece are the wires coming from the neutral switch. The other end of the black wire (on the common terminal) goes up to the coil. I assume this round item is a safety switch and it seems like mine might be bad, right? Any ideas?

Randy
Georgia

Sponsored Links
Old 09-09-07, 04:04 PM
You've disconnected the kill circuit wiring in complete fashion by removing the red wire from the junction block. This doesn't pinpoint any particular area of trouble and without knowledge of the mower model & serial or the wiring schematic it will be near impossible to help you determine the exact area of trouble. The half-dollar size component should be a relay switch and could be your trouble but may not be.

Old 09-09-07, 09:08 PM
Forum Topic Moderator
Sounds like you have either a bad seat switch or the connection to it, or the interlock transistor you unplugged is bad. It's about $45 for a new one. I also noticed that when they go bad, it's often when they got wet.

Old 09-11-07, 10:55 AM
thanks...so far!