Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Quick Gear Ratio Question

09-18-07, 08:35 AM   #1  
Quick Gear Ratio Question

Hey Everyone,
I am an extreme novice in understanding gear ratios, so if anyone could be of a little help, that would be much appreciated.

I'm going to be turning two gears with a belt, with a motor attached to one of the gears. Simple setup. I'm going to be attaching a prop of about 6 or so hanging from the belt, that will go around and around in in circles.

Basically, I want to know a rough estimate what rpm / torque motor I should buy to get this prop to move at approximately 10-15mph.

Nothing too precise, but don't want the prop flying! It's for a theatre setup.

Thanks for any advice.

Sponsored Links

PA

09-18-07, 10:13 AM   #2  
Is this a 6" prop or a 6 foot prop? What is the weight of the prop? if 6 foot. what safe guards will there be to keep people from getting whacked by it?

PA

09-18-07, 12:34 PM   #3  
I had one more question, Did you want this to go 15 MPH or 15 revs. per minute? Rotationg things are usually measured in RPMs.

NY

09-18-07, 02:05 PM   #4