Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

New Stihl Trimmer not running well after mutliple attempts to repair

TX

10-04-07, 05:42 PM   #1  
New Stihl Trimmer not running well after mutliple attempts to repair

I bought a new stihl fs55 trimmer from a local lawn power equipment store. They were very helpful during the purchase and initially I was very impressed with the trimmer in operation- ran great- cut great. However, after a few uses over a few weeks (a small yard) I found it would die off when applying full throttle. I took it to the store and they repaired it- said it was a carb. problem. So the day I got it back, I was having trouble starting it- ended up pulling the cord and it wouldn't retract. Maybe it was my fault, not sure, but I've been cutting grass for 15+ years with trimmers, mowers, blowers- all small engines- and never once messed up the start cord- never. Anyway, they fixed that, and today I brought it home to try again. I started it- but it started dying at idle right after starting, and would die again at full throttle. Honestly, I'm about ready to go nuts with this. $200 and I haven't trimmed my grass in over 3 weeks due to lack of a trimmer. What is going one? Should the store offer me credit- give me a new one- let me trade for a different model??

Sponsored Links

AL

10-04-07, 07:15 PM   #2