Scotts Riding Mower moves reeeeally slow.

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-11-07, 11:12 AM
WATYF's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 24
Scotts Riding Mower moves reeeeally slow.

I have a Scotts 19HP, 46" Riding Mower. It runs fine... starts fine... and cuts fine. The only problem is, it moves at a freaking snail's pace.

It has the hydro trans, so forward/reverse are on the same pedal. If you push the pedal all the way forward till it hits metal, the mower still just barely gets into gear and barely moves forward. The same goes for reverse.

Sometimes, when putting it in reverse, I can tell that it finally "catches" the gear properly and then it moves just fine... plenty fast for reverse... but that's hit or miss. Forward, on the other hand, never fully "catches", and I'm always just putting along at some ridiculously slow pace. It has gotten worse since I bought it three years ago. At first, it wasn't the quickest mower, but it did fine... Forward and Reverse seemed to be OK. I think it took me under an hour to do my 1/2 acre lawn. Over the years, though, forward has gotten slower and slower and reverse stopped "catching" properly and has now become as slow as forward. It now takes me around 2 hours to do my lawn.

I don't know a freaking thing about engines or mowers or whatever... basically, what I'm wondering is, does this sound like a serious problem (with the transmission?) or could it be some loose belt or linkage or something?


WATYF
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-12-07, 01:09 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,818
It could be a belt problem...but that doesn't explain a difference from reverse to fwd. It could be low on oil. It could be a linkage problem, and it could also be an internal problem in the tranny. I'd be inclined to think linkage or oil level.
 
  #3  
Old 10-12-07, 07:03 AM
WATYF's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 24
oil level? really? I never would have thought that.... of course, I don't know anything about this stuff, so that's probably why. I think I can handle checking the oil, though.

WATYF
 
  #4  
Old 10-12-07, 10:57 AM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,818
Not the engine oil level, but the tranny oil level. Some units are sealed and you might not be able to check the oil in yours. Look and see.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes