rewireing bravo skidoo

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-17-07, 01:03 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
rewireing bravo skidoo

Hi there.Anyone every rewire a yamaha bravo,1987?
Got all new electical parts,but not sure which wire goes where,lol.
I just need it to run,forget the headlight,ect.
There's 4 wires coming from engine,and 5 on my cdi unit.
Anyone????
Thanks Steve..
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-18-07, 02:27 AM
puey61's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 3,224
Sorry, I've never re-wired one. I'd highly recommend seeing your local Yami dealer and purchasing a schematic specific to your machine. Otherwise you'll be guessing too much.
 
  #3  
Old 10-19-07, 09:26 PM
Square Head's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Winnipeg MB, Canada.
Posts: 188
Exclamation Sled.

By the way, it's against the law to run your sled with out a head light!
Don't give sledding a worse name than it already has, wire it properly.
 
  #4  
Old 10-20-07, 08:23 AM
puey61's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 3,224
Good catch Square Head, I overlooked that tidbit. Yeah, we don't want to give the tree huggers and anti-snowmobilers any more ammunition.
 
  #5  
Old 10-20-07, 09:48 PM
Square Head's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Winnipeg MB, Canada.
Posts: 188
Exclamation Sleds.

I'm an avid sledder myself. 1995 V-max 600 ST Long Track.
Very rare machine actually. It's not right that a small % of people can ruin it for everyone else.
Plus, no lights is a huge safety issue.
 
  #6  
Old 10-21-07, 05:05 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
Guys,you misunderstood me 100%!!!!
I didn't want to ask too much from you,so,I know how to get the lights working,I can do that with my eyes closed when I get the engine running.
I just was hoping someone in the forum had the knowledge of how to get me some spark on the plug,lol.
The rest I'll have no problem with.
The problem I have is I forget the wiring order,or placements because it's been a year now.
When I saw some replies,I thought someone might have posted a few clues,lol.
I'll go see a couple of buddies with the same skidoo's,and set mine up the same.
I thought this forum would be better.
And if you think I'll drive a skidoo with no lights on it where I live it's dark at 4:30pm in winter,I would never.
I use the skidoo to haul my firewood,and I seldom am finished with everything put away by then,the lights,I'll do after the engine is running,they won't light up without that!!LOLOL.
Have a great day,Steve
 
  #7  
Old 10-21-07, 11:09 AM
Square Head's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Winnipeg MB, Canada.
Posts: 188
The shortest wire from the coil will go onto the closest spark plug to the coil.
Plugs gap at .045" I believe.
Make sure all the grounds and connections are clean.
What size motor??
 
  #8  
Old 10-22-07, 04:01 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 8
Smile

250cc.It's a single cylinder.
I have the wires from the engine discnnected from the cdi unit.There's 4 on the engine,yellow(lights,I think),black(ground,red/white(I don't know),and a red or browninsh red one.the cdi unit has the same colored wires on it,so perhaps I could hook them up by colors,and try.I may look at a friend skidoo aswell.
Then,the headlight and tail/brakelight will be easy.
I'm sorry I sounded pissed yesterday,I hadn't explained my problem entirely on this forum.
I had explained it ,the full story on the skidoo forum up above.
Thanks for your help.
Just for the record,I'm a bit obsessed with safety,and that's a good thing.
I do know what you guys are talking about with people spoiling things though.
Where I live,I use my yamaha 4 wheeler to haul firewood,never going fast at all,and always a helmet,and reflective tape and lights on in daytime .so I can be seen.
But there's those guys who fly by our house,and in our neibourhood there's children playing and people have pets.
There aren't many,but just one can get reported,and I might be the one who gets caught going from my house to the path,50 yards away,lol.
Anyway,thanks for the tips,take care,steve.
 
  #9  
Old 10-27-07, 08:28 AM
Square Head's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Winnipeg MB, Canada.
Posts: 188
Isn't there a plug running from the CDI unit?
The same colours should be coming from the handle bar assembly. Headlight/thumb warmer/left - right heated hand grips/ignition/kill switch.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes