120 volt starter

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-28-07, 04:04 PM
hopkinsr2's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 1,561
120 volt starter

Hi everyone. I have a snowblower here, Tecumseh engine #HMSK80, 15555u, 6250a, with 120 volt starter #33329d. The starter runs as soon as the cord is plugged into it. You have to un-plug the cord to get the starter to stop. I think I remember a post in the past that said the switch is available seperatly. A search had me checking Festiva starter relays, LOL. The dealer tells me I need a whole starter kit. Does this sound right?? Thanks everyone, Roger
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-28-07, 05:27 PM
nap's Avatar
nap
nap is offline
New Member
Join Date: May 2006
Location: north
Posts: 4,163
Not if you are into doing things yourself it doesn;t.

Since it is a 120 volt starter, it is basically an electric motor. I don;t know if it utilizes a relay or not. If is does, you need a puch button switch that is capable of carrying the voltage and current applied as a control voltage. If there is no relay, you need a switch that is capable of carrying the voltage and current draw of the starter itself.

So, what can youtell us about your machine?
 
  #3  
Old 10-28-07, 07:49 PM
hopkinsr2's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 1,561
Thanks, Nap. Nothing fancy here, no relays or anything. It's the typical snowblower starter set-up. Plug in the extension cord from the house, & push the button. Just a momentary closed switch . The problem is it's a sealed switch & I'd like to find a replacement for it if Tecumseh supplies a switch seperatly. Thanks, Roger
 
  #4  
Old 10-29-07, 08:00 PM
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: MA
Posts: 514
Good news and bad news. Switch is available PN# 35454 but costs approx. $70. New starter $140-$150. There is more labor to install switch than just swap out starter. Depending on how often you use 120V starter and option is to just cut cord at switch and attach weather proof male plug. Momentary connect to extension cord and you have a starter. The older B&S 120V starters had no switch the male connection was part of the starter hence the same process. This would be a do it yourself fix, you will not find a tech to do it for liability reasons etc. You can find used starters on EBAY for $50-$60. They are simple to install. Good luck
 
  #5  
Old 10-29-07, 08:54 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Derby City
Posts: 7
assuming you plug your 120 into the engine and unhook when the engine starts, I would just put a 120 switch into the line and switch on to start, switch off when engine starts, and unplug
 
  #6  
Old 10-30-07, 02:22 AM
puey61's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 3,224
This engine (and electric starter) is on a snow thrower and, if it were mine, I'd want it absolutely reliable. I'd replace the starter switch. Sure it's $70 but if you are not willing to pull start it then the switch is the way to go. I would not recommend purchasing a used starter anywhere but locally as you may run into trouble and would want someone to go to locally to have the problem rectified. The labor is not that much to replace this switch, by the way, time-wise, that is.
 
  #7  
Old 11-03-07, 07:52 AM
hopkinsr2's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 1,561
Thanks guys. I think I'll get the switch. It gets kinda hard to pull start when it's -25*. Roger
 
  #8  
Old 11-04-07, 08:26 AM
puey61's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 3,224
The tricky part on replacing the button box is in reinstalling the endcap with the four brushes but is doable for even a novice. Let us know the outcome.
 
  #9  
Old 11-05-07, 05:06 PM
hopkinsr2's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 1,561
Thanks Puey. I ordered the switch today & it should be here late this week, or early next week. The dealer wasn't sure if the part was still available, so I'll let you know. Thanks again, Roger
 
  #10  
Old 11-05-07, 10:26 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ontario,canada
Posts: 325
I have an older 78-79 briggs with 120v starter on a toro blower and it's switch is on the dash and contains a rectifier so I assume the starter is actually 120v DC? Don't think you can just connect direct AC to it.
 
  #11  
Old 11-07-07, 07:43 PM
hopkinsr2's Avatar
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 1,561
Thanks guys on the advice for my starter. The repair went well & now I don't have to pull it when it's cold, as I live between Ottawa & North Bay in Ontario & it COLD Thanks again, Roger
 
  #12  
Old 11-08-07, 02:09 AM
puey61's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 3,224
Roger, you're welcome and happy winter. 38, wow, it's been a long time since I've seen these old Briggs starters. I believe you're correct but that the starter is a 12V DC, not a 120V DC. Therefore you cannot connect AC power directly to the starter motor without going through the switch first.
 
  #13  
Old 11-08-07, 07:28 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ontario,canada
Posts: 325
Originally Posted by puey61 View Post
Roger, you're welcome and happy winter. 38, wow, it's been a long time since I've seen these old Briggs starters. I believe you're correct but that the starter is a 12V DC, not a 120V DC. Therefore you cannot connect AC power directly to the starter motor without going through the switch first.
Don't see how the starter can be 12v since the rectifier (diodes) only converts AC to DC. It is not a transformer. That's why I assume it 120v DC.
 
  #14  
Old 11-08-07, 07:34 PM
Member
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: ontario,canada
Posts: 325
Originally Posted by hopkinsr2 View Post
Thanks guys on the advice for my starter. The repair went well & now I don't have to pull it when it's cold, as I live between Ottawa & North Bay in Ontario & it COLD Thanks again, Roger
I am just south of Ottawa , so just about as cold as you. I put synthetic oil in my blower now and just about always can start it with the pull cord. Also sometimes I put a magnet heater on the head.
 
  #15  
Old 11-10-07, 11:51 AM
puey61's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 3,224
38, you're absolutely right, there is no inverter involved so it would have to be 120V DC. Having been so long since I've seen one that I forgot the setup. I belive those were only used on old snow thrower engines, if I'm not mistaken.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes