Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Tecumseh 5HP Overspeed Problem

12-02-07, 11:50 AM   #1  
Tecumseh 5HP Overspeed Problem

Newbie here... I have an Ariens Snowblower from circa 1996, with a 5HP Tecumseh engine. The engine is an HSK600, 2 stroke, with float style carb (no diaphrams or idle adjustment screws). I recently rebuilt the carb since it was gummed up with varnish and wouldnt start. In fact gas was leaking into the exhaust and out onto the engine. After doing some reading here, I sent away for a rebuild kit #632760B. After blowing out the carb with carb cleaner, I replaced many of the internal components such as:

- Needle valve & seat
- New float valve shaft
- bowl gasket
- adjusted float
- welsh plug

Today, I put everything back together and into the snowblower and noticed the engine was difficult to start again when i pulled the rope. In fact the fuel began to come out the exhaust again (fuel/hydro lock i guess). The difference this time was the fact it was only a small amount. It did start though and after a few minutes of warming up seemed to run "ok" with a noticably high RPM. There was no surging either. I feathered the choke to control the engine speed but after 10 minutes of that, the rpm began to climb to very high levels and I shut it off. Restarting had no effect.

Anybody venture a guess as to what is going on??? I am confused at this point. Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!
Mark

Sponsored Links

12-02-07, 07:48 PM   #2  
I have the same model engine on my snow blower. same carb, but I have yet to get it running, so I may have the solution, I just bought mine used, and it also had a varnished carb and a pinhole leak in the float.