Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Rookie Snowman, Need help with Snow blower

12-14-07, 03:19 PM   #1  
Rookie Snowman, Need help with Snow blower

This is our first winter in the Buffalo, NY area. I am a pastor at a local church and there is a snow blower. Yard Machines, 8.5 hp, 26". I have replaced the shoes, have to work on the handle, but it is very usable. However, I could not get it to start yesterday ( Which i was looking forward too!!) I also put in a new spark plug. It has an electric start and a pull of course. Electric start turns it but that it is it. Pull start does nothing. The first pull it acted like it was going to work but shut down and that was that. I think the machine is probably a 99 or 00 model. Would you have any ideas of what it could be? Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks you
CP

Last edited by cpruitt; 12-14-07 at 03:19 PM. Reason: Made mistake

Sponsored Links

NH

12-14-07, 04:37 PM   #2  
Sounds like the carb is varnished up and you may possibly have water in the gas. 2 oz of Isopropel drygas will take care of the water. The carb should be taken apart & cleaned to remove the varnish. Soak it in carb cleaner(available at auto parts stores) overnite. I use Gunk. Works great. You have to clean off the Gunk with water. Then, using compressed air, blow out ALL the holes & gas lines in the carb. This should solve you staring problems.

PA

12-15-07, 11:27 AM   #3  
If tearing apart a carb sounds beyond your comfort zone, most small engine repair shops will do it for you for around $25-30..... maybe a little more since the last one I had done was about 5 years ago. Definitely sounds like old gas sitting in the carb is your problem.

Super Moderator

CANADA

12-15-07, 03:26 PM   #4  
Before you take it for service just check to make sure the tank is full and that the fuel shut off is open.