8hp Tecumseh Rev's too high at full throttle

Old 12-22-07, 03:18 PM
8hp Tecumseh Rev's too high at full throttle

Engine: Tecumseh HM80-155128E on late 70's Ariens snowblower.

The engine was surging or hunting constantly and would sometimes stall when hunting too low at low idle and full throttle. I bought a rebuild kit and completely cleaned the carb, all the little pin holes too. Also replaced the float. After putting it all back together, the engine runs very smooth at idle, but if i give it any throttle, it sounds like it is ready for take off and seems to back fire and spit gas back out through the carb inlet. Im new to small engine repair, but have worked on car and motorcycle carbs. What i dont know about is the gvernor on the engine. i have followed all kinds of ways to adjust it with little success. There is also a screw on the throttle linkage which seems to be a fine adjustment for the governor (im not talking about the idle screw). Any ideas?

Sponsored Links
Old 12-22-07, 04:26 PM
1 thing I have seen on the older Ariens is that they have a throttle control on the handle bars. Many people, when they take off the carb, they don't properly adjust the throttle cable. That could be your problem. High no-load RPM on that should be 3400-3600 RPM.

Old 12-22-07, 04:59 PM
I played around with the cable with no luck. There isnt even a gray area to be adjusted around. Its either at a nice smooth idle or ready to explode.

Old 12-22-07, 07:24 PM
Here is the engine manual download link. Have a good one. Geo

www.cpdonline.com/692509.pdf

Old 12-22-07, 07:27 PM
Got an Ariens model number of the snowblower?

Old 12-23-07, 04:33 AM
the ariens model is 924039.

Does anyone know how to check the function of the governor to see if it is something i would have to replace?

Old 12-23-07, 09:35 AM