Snowblower...throws fine...won't drive

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-02-08, 03:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
Snowblower...throws fine...won't drive

This is my 3rd season with a sears craftsman 9.0HP 28inch cat track snowblower.

Today I went to clear up what was left behind from yesterday's 14inches. started up fine, engaged in fwd and rev, threw snow. completed the job then could not auto drive it back to barn. If i got snow accumulated, i was able to throw it. bottom line...I had to push, pull and grunt my way back 250 feet.

this is my first snowblower so i don't have a lot of knowledge. i am assuming there is some sort of drive belt or two but don't have a repair manual. any thoughts or suggestions? also instructions on how to?

thanks from snowy michigan

EAA
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-02-08, 05:10 PM
indypower500's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: new hampshire
Posts: 118
Can you please post the model number?
 
  #3  
Old 01-03-08, 04:21 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
model number 31AE7H8G799 or sears number 07188890000

two stage 4 cycle

eaa
 
  #4  
Old 01-03-08, 08:18 AM
indypower500's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: new hampshire
Posts: 118
The first thing I would check is the drive belts. You have a total of 3 belts on that snowblower. 1 drives the auger, the other 2 drive the tracks. Check to see if they are worn or if 1 is broken. Belts are located under the plastic cover between the engine & auger housing.
Do you have a heated or semi-heated garage? The cables for the "power steering" have been known to freeze while using causing the tracks to lock up. A Hair dryer will thaw them out if you don't have a heated garage.
you can find a diagram here:
http://www.buymtdonline.com/webapp/w...10101_19502_-1
click on "launch illustrated look up tool", then type in your model number.
 
  #5  
Old 01-03-08, 03:01 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3
thanks for the tips. I will look tomorrow afternoon when I get home from work. I have put the unit in the garage up at the house...the barn is -4 degrees farh. the house garage is built into our basement. never really gets below 40 degrees.

I will let you know how it works out. again, thanks.

Elizabeth
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes