Tecumseh Solid State Ignition troubles. Magneto?

Old 01-05-08, 11:58 AM
Tecumseh Solid State Ignition troubles. Magneto?

Here's the story:
I have a Bolens 1055 G-10 with a 10HP Tecumseh HH100.
Last year, at the end of the snow season, I had a small fuel leak where the pulse pump screws into the carb. I took off the assembly, broke both parts down and cleaned them up, then put back on the engine.
Needless to say, it hasn't ran the same ever since.
The engine would start right up, but after running for 5 minutes it would start acting up, like it was running out of fuel or choking out. I took the carb assembly back off and repeated the cleaning.
Still wouldn't run right.
I'm a disabled Vet and with all the snow we have been getting here in Wisconsin this year, it has been pretty hard on me trying to get at it with a shovel.

Anyway, I was convinced that the problem was in the fuel pump which is a Walbro pulse pump. I couldn't locate a new Walbro, but did find an aftermarket pump. Once again, I took the carb apart and cleaned it up good. I cleaned the gas tank, put new lines on and crossed my fingers.
The engine started right up and sounded good.
I let it warm up while I went inside to dress for snow blowing. Probably a good ten minutes passed before I climbed on board and put it in gear.
I made about 4 passed on the driveway, then it started acting up again just like before. .

It took alot to get it back into the garage.
It just wouldn't run right for me anymore, and now I can't even get spark.
I bought new plug, still no spark.
I'm about at my wits end here, but know that when I get this thing figured out, it will be a fine machine again.

There is a solid state ignition and I have no idea how to get to it and check it out. Here's where I need help.
The only exterior components are the starter, selenoid and voltage regulator. There is no coil.
I don't know a thing about a magneto.