Replace Ariens Auger Belt for snowthrower?

Reply

  #1  
Old 01-05-08, 02:15 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Nevada
Posts: 3
Question Replace Ariens Auger Belt for snowthrower?

I have an old Ariens Snowthrower. appx. 15 yrs. The auger belt broke and I can't see how to replace it. HELP it's snowing.
Thanks in advance
Bob
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 01-05-08, 03:49 PM
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: MA
Posts: 514
What is the model #? It should be on rear of tractor left hand side.

Did you remove belt cover? If so 1 or 2 belts?
 
  #3  
Old 01-05-08, 04:26 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Nevada
Posts: 3
Ariens

It has 1 belt
looking down at the shaft it looks as if it goes through the engine, pully wheel and into the auger? I think it's a 10ML 60D
 
  #4  
Old 01-05-08, 06:56 PM
hopkinsr2's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 1,561
If you remove the 2 bolts @ the top of the collector where it meets the power unit & disconnect the chute control, the machine will "Fold" open. Thru the opening of the belt cover you removed, You can feed the belt around the pulleys. Pull the auger engage handle slightly when you fold the unit together & you'll be blowing snow in no time!!! Roger
 
  #5  
Old 01-06-08, 09:04 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Nevada
Posts: 3
Thumbs up Roger, You are the Man !

I had no idea what you were saying and I thought I had low reading comperhension. But I went out, looked at what you suggested and bam the light came on. All is well new belt instaled and ready to blow some snow Thanks, Roger!
 
  #6  
Old 01-06-08, 09:44 AM
hopkinsr2's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 1,561
Glad you're going again. Thanks,Roger
 
  #7  
Old 01-07-08, 02:24 AM
puey61's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Upstate New York
Posts: 3,224
By the way, your machine is 40 years old, not 15. But that's a good thing, that's when an Ariens was made to last.
 
  #8  
Old 01-26-11, 03:49 PM
Banned. Rule And/Or Policy Violation
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: united states
Posts: 1
I have an arien 8524 and my propeller is not working. I think the auger belt needs to be replaced Can anyone help me please????? First where can I get the belt ? And last how do I replace it???? Please help me anyone....
 
  #9  
Old 01-26-11, 10:03 PM
hopkinsr2's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: canada
Posts: 1,561
You can probably get the belt @ any OPE shop... The above instructions should get you dialed in,,,Split it in 2 @ the center & be aware of the brake... Roger
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes