Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

generator wont run


tecate87's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 211
PA

02-03-08, 12:38 PM   #1  
generator wont run

coleman generator 6250 wont start. no spark, any common problems with these or where do I look first ??

 
Sponsored Links
repair_guy's Avatar
New Member

Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 539
AL

02-03-08, 03:28 PM   #2  
Since your problem sounds like it's more with the engine than with the generator And with the limited info that you supplyed I'd be afraid to guess. With engine brand & model,type or spec# we can help you better.

 
hopkinsr2's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,561
Non-US

02-03-08, 03:56 PM   #3  
The pros will need the engine numbers to help you more, but 'till you get them, check the motor oil. Lots of generators have low oil kills. Also verify all the kills are turned on, important if this unit has remote start /stop controls. Maybe try a new plug to verify the "no spark" condition. Roger

 
tecate87's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 211
PA

02-03-08, 04:14 PM   #4  
info

it has oil and full, only one switch for on/off.
tried different plug too.

the model number is PM0545007
briggs & straton engine, powermate 6250.

 
flirty1's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 1,363
MI

02-03-08, 04:51 PM   #5  
remove the sparkplug and poor a teaspoon of gas into the sparkplug hole. re-install the plug and try cranking the engine. does it attempt to fire or run for a second or 2 before stopping. if so then its a carb problem. no attempt is made to fire then the coil might be bad. try and find a green wire coming from the coil remove it and see if it starts. if yes then the wire is grounded somewhere. if still no fire then the coil needs replacing

 
tecate87's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 211
PA

02-07-08, 01:20 PM   #6  
solved

it ended up being only the on/off switch. it must have had a bad connection. I tried it a dozen times it didnt work, had father-in-law try it worked after about 3 tries. thanks for all the replies.

 
Search this Thread