Yarworks/MTD snowblower

Reply

  #1  
Old 02-24-08, 10:01 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Yarworks/MTD snowblower

I have a Yardswork snowblower which is made by MTD. The store where I bought it from didn't adjust the cable properly. So I couldn't put it in reverse 2 and in reverse 1 the cable was so tight I thought it would snap. So I adjusted the snowblower but now when I put it in reverse it doesn't go in reverse it still goes forward very fast. A neighbor looked at my snowblower and tried it and he says it is not changing gears. It only has one speed and it's very fast. Any ideas what may be causing that?

Thanks

Sue
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 02-24-08, 10:53 AM
Member
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Central New Hampshire
Posts: 754
sue, can you please post the model number? The tag can be found under the handle bars in back of the wheels or in your owners manual.
 
  #3  
Old 02-24-08, 11:00 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Here is the model #

The model number is 31AE6GKG515 and the other number is 060-3753-6

Sue
 
  #4  
Old 02-24-08, 04:50 PM
indypower500's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: new hampshire
Posts: 118
Sue, you need to adjust the shift lever.To do this, remove the cotter pin from the lower lever(between the wheels). Now move the shift lever to the fastest speed. Push this lever down as far as it will go. Turn the rod until it lines up with the hole.
Reinstall the cotter pin and check for full range movement.
 
  #5  
Old 02-24-08, 05:10 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Indypower would that mean I would have to take off the frame part were the 4 screws are? I was there today checking to see if it was a belt that was loose.

It is under warranty but I think it was the stores fault for not assembling it properly and I feel I might have to take it to the authorized service centre for them to fix it.

Thanks for your help. I will check my books to where the cotter pin is.

Sue
 
  #6  
Old 02-24-08, 05:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 4
Also I was wondering if it would be something to do with the shift rod assembly or the torsion spring. Because while I was trying to adjust the cable a few ago I pull back far to try figure out how to connect the cable as it looked to short to connect it to the pivot bracket.

Sue
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes