Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

craftsman mower


jedlin13's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 18
KY

02-28-08, 03:00 PM   #1  
craftsman mower

Hello everyone, I hope ya'll can help me. I was mowing my yard with a friends craftsman riding mower. When it just coasted to a stop. Motor still running and everything. It will start up fine but will not move unless being pushed. I tried going to that sears3.com site but apparently the site doesn't work. I have the model number. I am trying to see a diagram of everything and see if something is broke or missing. I really need to get this fixed quickly and as cheap as possible before our friendship goes bad.

 
Sponsored Links
AAWrench's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 94
CA

02-28-08, 03:07 PM   #2  
Try this:

www.searspartsdirect.com

you will need your model number.

 
indypower500's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 118
NH

02-28-08, 03:07 PM   #3  
Please post your model number

 
jedlin13's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 18
KY

02-28-08, 03:19 PM   #4  
model number 917. 271910

 
jedlin13's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 18
KY

02-28-08, 03:22 PM   #5  
Thats that same site. I click on part# and nothing happens. Am I not using the site properly?

 
smallengineguy's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 514
MA

02-28-08, 03:57 PM   #6  
Enter the model # where it says ---model#--- not part#, you can then get diagrams of the mower, 1st thing to check is drive belt.

 
jedlin13's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 18
KY

02-28-08, 04:08 PM   #7  
I must be crazy cause thats the same site i dont see anywhere to enter a model number. all that site does is tell me where to find model number

 
31YTech's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,263
FL

02-28-08, 04:10 PM   #8  
Posted By: smallengineguy 1st thing to check is drive belt.
Then raise the rear tires off the ground, With the trans in gear grab both rear tires and try spinning them at the same time in the same direction.

If they spin the opening in the 'E' clip holding the wheel on could have aligned with the axle key slot and let the key walk out, I have seen this happen a few times.

Could also be broken shift keys in the trans....

Good Luck

 
jedlin13's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 18
KY

02-28-08, 05:30 PM   #9  
I will check that out either tommorow after work or saturday. I just hope the problem is cheap to fix and easy to fix.

 
AAWrench's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 94
CA

02-28-08, 07:14 PM   #10  
Posted By: jedlin13 I must be crazy cause thats the same site i dont see anywhere to enter a model number. all that site does is tell me where to find model number
I don't quite know what your doing, but I found your unit on that site ok. Just put in your model number in the first box where it says search by model number "enter model number" and click search. Then click on whatever sub component you want to look at.

 
jedlin13's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 18
KY

02-28-08, 07:19 PM   #11  
ok i tried again. whats the site address? maybe i got it wrong

 
AAWrench's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 94
CA

02-28-08, 07:20 PM   #12  
Posted By: jedlin13 ok i tried again. whats the site address? maybe i got it wrong
http://www.searspartsdirect.com

 
jedlin13's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 18
KY

02-28-08, 07:35 PM   #13  
i think i have it its a pdf file of the owners manual. is that what you was looking at? i had to register and get a screen name in order to see it.

 
AAWrench's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 94
CA

02-28-08, 07:49 PM   #14  
Posted By: jedlin13 i think i have it its a pdf file of the owners manual. is that what you was looking at? i had to register and get a screen name in order to see it.
No, I saw that but I did not go there.

When the page loads the upper most box on the right hand side of the screen reads

Search by model number

and inside the box it has printed

Enter model number

Click inside this box and enter your model number, then the next page that loads will have a list of sub components in the middle left side of the page that you can select and view.

 
jedlin13's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 18
KY

02-28-08, 08:28 PM   #15  
when i go to sears partsdirect there is no box in the right corner. heres the site i get when i clicked the link in prevoius post below. http://www.searspartsdirect.com/part...t/index.action

 
AAWrench's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 94
CA

02-28-08, 09:05 PM   #16  
Posted By: jedlin13 when i go to sears partsdirect there is no box in the right corner. heres the site i get when i clicked the link in prevoius post below. http://www.searspartsdirect.com/part...t/index.action
Maybe you need to try refreshing the page or clearing your browser history, I don't know why this site does not show the box in the upper right hand corner. I clicked on the link in your post and it popped right up on my browser.

I wish I could paste a copy of my browser screen in here to show you what I am talking about.

 
31YTech's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 1,263
FL

02-29-08, 03:59 AM   #17  
Here is a pic of the drive system for that unit;




 
GlenM's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 432
OK

02-29-08, 05:33 AM   #18  
http://www3.sears.com

Sears upgraded to a new parts page at the beginning of the month. It's extremely slow for dial-up users lilke myself. It seems to load the parts page in sections.
You have to wait for the word 'search' to appear in it's box in the right hand corner to display models or parts.
they've enhanced it to the point of difficult usability for dialups.

 
jedlin13's Avatar
Member

Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 18
KY

02-29-08, 01:36 PM   #19  
that diagram helps i'm gonna try to make it bigger. thank you. We got that high speed internet deal here, cable i guess it is. I'm gonna mess around with it tommorow. Its supposed to be nice here so i'm gonna get some trees and fenceline cut and see what i can do with this mower.

 
Search this Thread