old, 3.5 hp Briggs Stratton lawnmower remove flywheel?

Old 03-07-08, 01:24 PM
old, 3.5 hp Briggs Stratton lawnmower remove flywheel?

I've got an old lawnmower, vertical shaft, B&S 3.5hp engine that won't start, no spark. Been a while since used, but fuel was drained entirely before storing.

I've got the cover off, shroud, recoil start, etc., but there's still the ratcheting mechanism on top of the flywheel. Isn't there something, a nut or bolt that holds the flywheel on/tight, or can I just put my puller on the ratcheting thing and pull the flywheel off?

I'm new at this, but mechanically inclined, so the more detail the better.

Thanks!

Sponsored Links
Old 03-07-08, 02:08 PM
Copy down the model, type and code imprinted just above the plug on the top shroud.
Enter model and type at following site to download pdf IPL for engine.
https://www.briggsandstratton.com/ma...nav3&subMenu=3
You can see the starter clutch assy. Pull off the square stock and remove balls, the next part the balls rested in has to be unscrewed. If you're real careful it can be tapped off, but there is a special that should be used.

Old 03-07-08, 02:41 PM
Group Moderator
I always used to just use a pipe wrench to loosen the clutch (without disassembling it!) You put the pipe wrench on the lower part of the clutch (around the part that has the 4 holes tapped in it) because it is like the nut that holds the flywheel down. Once it has been removed, you'll put the puller on the flywheel and pull it off. Usually you can tighten the puller snug and give it a light rap with a hammer and it will pop the flywheel off. A mower that's been left to the elements might be a little more difficult to work on.

I'm guessing you probably just need new points and condenser. Might also be a sheared flywheel key. Been a few years since I worked on those old engines.

Old 03-07-08, 02:58 PM
Ok, got the manual, very helpful, thanks.