craftsman lawn tractor won't start

Reply

  #1  
Old 05-29-08, 12:33 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
craftsman lawn tractor won't start

I've got a 5y old tractor that won't start (ie when I turn ignition I get nada..zilch) I have electrical current going from battery to the starter and from the starter to the plug. Additionally I have checked to make sure that the blades are disengaged and the safety switch in the seat isn't tripped. Also checked the fuse and it is intact. What am I missing?????????
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 05-29-08, 01:32 PM
crazycory22's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 375
You didn't specify what engine. But I would check the solenoid. It could be bad, thus creating the problem you describe.
 
  #3  
Old 05-29-08, 01:53 PM
Member
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 7
You might also double check that the safety switch from the blade lever if fully depressed. I had this trouble with my tractor before and while the blade was disengaged, the lever was not 100% down and was not fully depressing the safety switch.
 
  #4  
Old 05-29-08, 09:37 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,820
You have current from the battery to the starter? And from the starter to the plug? What plug?...spark plug?

You have current to the starter, but the starter still doesn't turn, then the starter is bad or stuck. Before you go replacing the starter, I'll say you don't have current going to the starter, because you said you get "nada...zilch" when turning the key. If you were getting current to the starter, you would get more than "nada...zilch", even if the starter was disconnected. How are you testing this, and where are you testing?
 
  #5  
Old 05-30-08, 12:00 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
More detail...

So here is the full story- the mower was working fine last week. I ran out of gas and had to push it back to the shed. When I tried to start it the other day I got nothing- no clicking no err..err.err. Checked the battery and it has a full charge. I have replaced the ignition switch because I thought it might be bad. I have current running from the battery to the soleniod, from the soleniod to the starter and from the starter to the spark plug (checked w/ voltmeter)..Interestingly I have current whether the ignition is in the on or off position...is that right????- I thought the ignition switch served as a sort of curcuit breaker (like a light switch) and I shouldn't have current to the starter when the ignition is off. HELp
 
  #6  
Old 05-30-08, 12:14 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
response to comments on tractor

Soleniod was replaced a year ago---how long do they last?

How do I check to make sure that the button to disengaged the blades is not tripping the safety- where is the safety switch? Does it have anything to do with the lever to raise and lower the cutting deck?


Whats the best way to check whether I have current going through the system properly???IE where should I place the testing prongs on the voltmeter maybe I'm not testing it properly.
 
  #7  
Old 05-30-08, 10:14 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,820
Apparently you're not testing properly. I am quite sure there is not current from the solenoid to the starter, and definitely not from the starter to the spark plug. There is no way for power to get from the starter to the spark plug, and it should not ever.

What setting do you have the voltmeter on? It should be on DC volts. Black lead to metal on the frame or engine, red lead to whatever wire you're checking. A reading of 12 volts indicates power. No reading indicates no power.
 
  #8  
Old 04-24-10, 11:40 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 3
will not start with out starting fluid, and will not keep running.

will not keep running.with out starting fluid.
 
  #9  
Old 04-24-10, 11:44 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 3
wire daigram needed

the wires from solinod have been cut by someone i need a wire daig.please.
 
  #10  
Old 04-24-10, 11:48 AM
Member
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: usa
Posts: 3
wire daigram needed

craftsman riding tractor 18 hp engine model LT1000
 
  #11  
Old 04-24-10, 04:37 PM
indypower1's Avatar
Member
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Lake Winnipesaukee, New Hampshire
Posts: 634
Need the modle number located under the seat. XXX.XXXXX
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes