Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

16HP Briggs Has No Spark

IN

06-13-08, 07:24 AM   #1  
16HP Briggs Has No Spark

I am a mechanic by trade, and for the moment feel very defeated from this little motor I was givin a 2004 Murray riding mower with a 16HP Briggs Twin Cylinder engine (402707,124001). When I recevied it I was told it needed a starter, and infact it did since the previous owner had removed it, and did not give it to me. I put a brand new starter on it, charged the battery, replaced the fuel filter, and put in some fresh gas. When I hit the key all I got was the notorious clunk from the starter solenoid. So back to the store to buy a new solenoid. After the install, and a few seconds of cranking she fired up, and seem to run pretty good for how long it had been sitting. I shut it down to check for leaks, and such then restarted to check if the deck would engage. The motor kept trying to die so again I shut it down, and found the safety switch disconnected under the seat, and a bunch of debris under the deck switch. Cleaned it all up, and now it will not start. I have no spark whatsoever. First place I went to was the kill switch wire on the coil, and disconnected it...still nothing. Upon further inspection I noticed the coil was very very warm and the windings were comeing out of the back of the casing. I bought a new Briggs & Stratton coil and installed it right side up, and adjusted the air gap with a bussiness card as well as cleaned the rust off the flywheel. STILL NO SPARK !! I have the kill switch wire dissconnected, and the motor seems to be spinning quickly. The magnet in the flywheel is not loose, and the plugs are relatively clean. The only thing I can think of is that the battery is low on cranking amps, and the starter is robbing them all. I have checked everything I know of, and need some help ! Please give me some i