Welcome to the DoItYourself Forums!

To post questions, help other DIYers and reduce advertising (like the one on your left), join our DIY community. It's free!

Mantis Tiller with SV-4/B won't start

07-22-08, 12:38 PM   #1  
Mantis Tiller with SV-4/B won't start

I am new to this forum and looking for help with my tiller.

It has always run perfectly until today. I was using it to mix some dirt for planting and turned it off with the "stop" switch. It will not restart. I removed the spark plug and it was wet with the gas/oil mixture. I dried it and it will not spark. I removed the plug from my 2 stroke edger and tried to get it to spark. The plug works in the edger, the edger plug will not spark in the tiller. I suspect the coil but I am not a mechanic. Can you tell me how to test or eliminate the coil as the problem?

Where would I find a coil if needed?

Thanks, Billy

Sponsored Links

TX

07-22-08, 02:50 PM   #2  
Disconnect the kill switch lead going to the engine and retest for spark, if it sparks with the kill switch disconnected, the the kill switch is bad and needs to be replaced. If still no spark then I would suspect the CDI module. This is an Echo engine, so any Echo dealer should be able to get the part for you. I would check to see if the module may be under warranty, Echo branded products have a lifetime warranty on the module, customer only pays for installation.

Depending upon the serial number of your engine it could be one of the following Echo part numbers:

156626 11820 Coil, Ignition S/N - 001001 - 615220
A411000080 Coil, Ignition S/N - 615221 & up

If your engine is a type 1E then it could be one of the following:

156626 11820 Coil, Ignition S/N - 001001 - 102760
156601 52130 Coil, Ignition S/N - 102761 - 580614
A411000080 Coil, Ignition S/N - 580615 & Up

If you have a Type 1E it should be designated as such on the same sticker where you found the engine model number, and the serial number should be located there as well.