B&S 5HP Replacement/Repower

Old 08-23-08, 04:16 PM
B&S 5HP Replacement/Repower

Greetings from a first time poster. I'm a backyard automotive mechanic and have rebuilt several modern car engines. That should establish my baseline experience with regards to mechanical aptitude.

Anyhow, I have an MTD Chipper with the following Briggs engine:

Model: 135212
Code: 0140-01
Date/MFG: 960904YD (OR "O")

It's a 5HP Horizontal shaft with a pulse-jet type carb and a 7/8ths tapered shaft, which according to searches is proprietary to MTD equipment.

I bought it used, rebuilt the carb, changed the oil with fresh 30 weight same what came with my new Toro mower, and had it running like a top.

I put a good seven or eight hard hours on the engine (Over a period of days...), grinding up three inch branches and all manner of shrubbery. I checked the oil at every refueling and intended to change the oil again at 10 hours.

All of a sudden, the engine started slowing down despite being at WOT and I had just filled the tank... I shut off the throttle and ignition and pulled the branches out.

Blueish smoke came from the exhaust and it backfired and it spun down...

The air cooling fins are all white, the oil smelled burnt, and the engine is very hard to rotate by hand (Trying to turn the flywheel with a crow bar works. Pull start does not.)

I've pulled the head and crankcase cover, taking pics as I tore down the engine. (I can't post them directly here, so I'll have to load the on PhotoBucket or something later.) It doesn't look like the piston seized up as I can still see the crosshatch pattern clearly in the cylinder bore.

It looks as though I've either lost the rod bearing or the crank bearing on the flywheel side. I'm leaning toward the main crank bearing. When I tipped the unit to that side to remove the blade from the crankshaft PTO side of the engine, all the oil poured out from that end of the engine around the crankshaft seal.