testing 2 cycle carbs(walbro/zama)

Old 08-25-08, 11:39 AM
testing 2 cycle carbs(walbro/zama)

Can anybody give me some advice on what steps to do on testing carbs. on trimmers,blowers ,chainsaws and any small carbs out there.I bought myself a Mity Vac vacuum pumps which does both .pressure and vaccum.any advice will help or steps, Or do I need some thing else to test them?

Sponsored Links
Old 08-25-08, 11:50 AM
Forum Topic Moderator
The only feasable way to test them is to install them and run the engine on it. A vacuum/pressure pump won't tell anything about it. I have a mightyvac too, but I got it when I worked as an automotive tech to test vacuum motors. It has limited use on samll engine applications.

Old 08-25-08, 12:07 PM
thanks cheese, I usually install them and do some adj. on it while it's on and running .But is there a test that needs to be done when rebuilding a carb.to make sure there are no leaks and the needle is set right.Do you think getting one that walbro or zama recommends.

Old 08-25-08, 12:50 PM
Here are some links to get you started with troubleshooting 2-cycle engines.

Download “Diaphragm Carburetors” manual from this site as well as manuals for individual type carburetors:

http://wem.walbro.com/distributors/servicemanuals/

Here is a link to download the ZAMA carburetor Technical Guide:

http://www.zamacarb.com/pdfs/TechGuide_2007.pdf

Here is a link where you can download some Husqvarna 2-cycle powered equipment as well as a bunch of other junk:

http://www.gardening-tools-direct.co...op_manuals.htm

Good luck

Old 08-26-08, 12:53 AM
Forum Topic Moderator