Honda HRM215 Transmission Replacement

Reply

  #1  
Old 09-03-08, 08:11 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southeast
Posts: 5
Honda HRM215 Transmission Replacement

I have a Honda Harmony HRM215 2 speed mower that appears to have a bad transmission. Mower is 12 years old and in great shape (besides the Trans). Shop wants way too much to replace the transmission. Before I trash the mower, I wondered how difficult it is to replace the transmission. I'm fairly mechanical, but don't want to get in over my head. I can get a transmission for about $115-125.

Please advise!

Thanks,

D
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 09-03-08, 02:11 PM
30yearTech's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 1,176
It's somewhat time consuming, but it's certainly not rocket science. If your mechanically inclined, then you should be able to tackle it, you do not need any special tools to do the replacement.
 
  #3  
Old 09-04-08, 05:24 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southeast
Posts: 5
I'm gonna try it!

Thanks for the reply. I'm going to give it a go. Any tips to get me started - in terms of what to do (remove) first to remove the bad transmission?

D
 
  #4  
Old 09-04-08, 06:15 AM
30yearTech's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 1,176
You will have to remove both rear drive wheels and height adjusters, then the rear baffle of the mower deck to gain access to the transmission.

When you get ready to tackle the replacement, post back and I can post more detailed steps for you.
 
  #5  
Old 09-04-08, 06:29 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southeast
Posts: 5
Awesome - thanks!

Awesome - Thanks! I'll defintely ask for more help.
 
  #6  
Old 09-09-08, 08:06 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southeast
Posts: 5
Eliminate the transmission

Can I eliminate the transmission and just use the mower as a push? There's one belt that turns the blade and the transmission. Motor runs fine but the transmission makes an aweful noise and of course doesn't work. Will the blade spin if I remove the belt?

Thanks,

D
 
  #7  
Old 09-09-08, 10:38 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Southeast
Posts: 5
Answered my own question - YES

Yes, just take off the belt.

Thanks,

D
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes