Briggs & Stratton : Dies when hot, backfires

Old 09-05-08, 02:52 PM
Question Briggs & Stratton : Dies when hot, backfires

Hey guys....hope you can help as I am an extreme noob when it comes to small engines, riding lawn mowers, etc....but a friend just passed along to me a riding lawn mower that I would like to see if I could get fixed. We just purchased a house and I don't have the money currently for a new mower, so ... this is what I got.

First off, its a riding mower thats uglier than home made sin, but it runs fine until it gets hot. I believe its an MTG Mastercut, and when I flip the lid, this is the info on the engine:

Model: 286707
Type: 4025 01
Code: 0311114A

Its 12.5HP, B&S, 38" Cut and 7 speed trans

So, I haven't had a chance to even use it yet (raining..thank you Hannah) but would like to work on it while the rains here and hopefully be ready to go once its gone...anyway, as far as I know, from what the friend said (it was given to me, so I wasn't being sold anything) is that it starts right up, which it does, and that it will go about 10-15 min before it will start to stall and backfire. At that time, you have to let it cool and the process can be duplicated over and again.

I searched these forums and found a few things that look like contenders for the culprit...I saw one post where, the fuels running to lean, causing the carb or engine to get to hot, causing the fuel to ignite to early??

And the other potentially being a coil...now I will also say here that the person that gave me the lawn mower did say that had a mechanic friend look at it and he said he thought it was a coil as well.

So..anyway, there is my story...more than willing to gather any additional info and take pics, whatever...just hope to be able to get her right.

Anyway...thanks in advance for any help that comes my way.

Sponsored Links
Old 09-05-08, 05:24 PM