Craftsman LT1000 won't start

Old 10-12-08, 08:10 PM
Question Craftsman LT1000 won't start

Hi Everybody, I am new to post here but have been lurking and learning. I have a LT1000 Model 917.271842 with a 21.0hp twin B&S I/C engine model#461707. My problem is the mower will not start. It makes no noise at all, nothing, no clicking just dead. I load tested my battery and it reads fine. I fully charged it also. For the past year or so it starts hard,makes a couple turn of the starter then stops and then catches and finally starts. Yesterday after cutting all day I shut it of to blow the dust off and it would not start again. I have taken apart and cleaned all connections. I have 12+ volts to one of the red wires and the black wires on the solenoid, not to the other red or the white wires at anytime while turning key. I used a new car battery and jumped direct from the possitive to the starter and it turns over but still its kind of hard (turns then stops, turns and stops) I removed the 2 spark plugs and the starter turns over easier (pretty much like normal). I then jumped with a screw driver across the 2 large bolts on the solenoid and it turns over also. I then put the spark plugs back in and jumped the starter again and it turned hard again. Do I have 2 problems? It seemd like all the safty switchs are working but how can I check? The solenoid? Do the valves need adjustment on this engine? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks GI2

Sponsored Links
Old 10-12-08, 08:22 PM
The model engine you have most likely does not require any valve adjustments. You may have a problem with the starter motor if it's dragging or spinning slowly. I would check all the cables and connectors to make sure they are in good condition, are all clean and tight and that the ground to the frame and engine are also good.