Poulan pro lawn tractor won't start

Reply

  #1  
Old 10-17-08, 01:13 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 23
Poulan pro lawn tractor won't start

Hi I have a Poulan Pro pr1842stb lawn tractor that won't start.I had the battery checked and fully charged and I also changed the spark plug. It still won't start. When I turn the key it makes 1-2 very labored slow cranks.I tried 3-4 times and noticed the starter was warm.Didn't know if it should feel that way in just a few cranks. I appreciate any advice. The leaves are falling,I'll be in trouble really quick if I can't get it started to keep up on them.
Thanks Orbit
 
Sponsored Links
  #2  
Old 10-17-08, 10:33 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,818
You need to adjust the valves. Set both to .005" with the piston 1/4" past TDC.
 
  #3  
Old 10-19-08, 05:27 PM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 23
Originally Posted by cheese View Post
You need to adjust the valves. Set both to .005" with the piston 1/4" past TDC.
Cheese,Thanx but I have no clue how to do this.I'm fairly handy and not afraid to give it a shot,but is there a book I can buy that will show me step by step instructions? Or are there other resources you suggest?
By the way thanks for the blessing,I'll take it!
 
  #4  
Old 10-19-08, 07:54 PM
30yearTech's Avatar
Member
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Central Texas
Posts: 1,176
There are several threads dedicated to this procedure. Take a look and at these and if you have any questions, just ask.

http://forum.doityourself.com/showth...ghlight=valves

http://forum.doityourself.com/showth...ghlight=valves

http://forum.doityourself.com/showth...ghlight=valves

It's not that hard and it is normal maintenance, so it's a good idea to know how to do this, as it's needed periodically.

 
  #5  
Old 10-20-08, 06:32 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 23
thanx tech, I'll look'em up.
 
  #6  
Old 10-20-08, 10:20 AM
Member
Thread Starter
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Ohio
Posts: 23
Hi, just trying to get all my ducks in a row before I start.Will I need a set of valve gaskets?Also I noticed I have a little oil in the carb before it gets to the valve-choke.OK or not?
Thanx.Orbit
 
  #7  
Old 10-20-08, 11:14 PM
cheese's Avatar
Forum Topic Moderator
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: USA
Posts: 16,818
Is the oil level overfull?

When adjusting the valves, you may need to replace the valve cover gasket. Often times it comes off in one piece and if it looks good, you could re-use it at your own discretion.
 
Reply

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Display Modes