Considering a snowblower

Old 10-27-08, 09:32 AM
Considering a snowblower

Hi- I'm thinking about buying a snowblower, because we share a long driveway with the neighbors and it gets longer after a snowfall. I'm looking for a used one in the classifieds.

I'm a complete novice- never even operated one. I see one-stage, two-stage, two-stroke, and four-stroke. Two-stage seems to be associated with the size and capability of the machine. Any reasons for or against 2 stroke or 4 stroke, other than mixing the oil and gas?

Right now I'm considering a 2 stroke MTD, 4.5 HP for $150. The woman on the phone couldn't pick the model number off the machine.

Anyone have ideas or advice to share?

Thanks,
Dave O

Sponsored Links
Old 10-27-08, 10:37 AM
The price is right--mix a little gas & 2 stroke oil-good to go....
Don't forget to get your neighbor to pay for 1/2 of the machine & do 1/2 of the sno blowing...................

Old 10-27-08, 02:08 PM
You say you have a long driveway. Stay away from the 2-strokes. These are small snow throwers that are made for decks as they do not throw snow very far. And you have to push them thru the snow. I recomend a 2-stage, self-propelled, 4 cycle engine snowblower. A 2-stage has the augers in front that pulls in the snow and the second stage is an impeller that throws the snow out of the chute.

Old 10-28-08, 03:07 AM
I have a Toro two stroke--it pulls itself ( tip handle up) thru
the snow---
Couple drawbacks: Costs about same as cheap 2 stage & you
have to change blades & skid every 2 years.
It's almost 9 years old & starts on first pull---might be the Jap engine...................

Old 11-08-08, 03:01 PM
Hi,